Courts in Williamson County, Texas

As provided in the Texas Constitution, Williamson County has a single court presided over by a county judge.

The Williamson County Courts at Law have concurrent jurisdiction with justice of the peace and district courts in civil cases in which the amount in controversy is small. Jurisdiction is said to be concurrent when two levels of courts have authority to try the same type of case.

The constitutional county courts generally hear the probate cases filed in the county. They also have original jurisdiction over all Class A and Class B misdemeanor criminal cases, which are the more serious minor offenses. These courts usually have appellate jurisdiction in cases appealed from justice of the peace and municipal courts, except in counties where county courts at law have been established. Unless the appeal is one from a designated municipal court of record (trial proceedings are recorded by a court reporter), the appeal takes the form of a trial de novo (a completely new trial).

The Williamson County DWI / Drug Court handles DWI cases. The court is located within the Williamson County Courthouse Annex at 405 S. Martin Luther King St., Georgetown, TX. Georgetown is the county seat. Inquiries may be directed to:

DWI Court Administration
405 S. Martin Luther King St.
Georgetown, TX 78626

Phone: (512) 943-1411
Fax: (512) 943-1414

Law Awards

Awards given to our attorneys for excellence.

Michael Burnett -

  • Recognized in 2008 and 2005 as a "Rising Super Lawyer" by Texas Monthly.
  • A.V. Rated by Martindale-Hubbell

Jeffrey David Miller -

  • Recognized in 2008 as a "Rising Star Super Lawyer" by Texas Monthly Magazine.
  • Elected in 2008 as a Fellow of the Texas Bar Association.