Underage Drinking

Austin DWI / DUI AttorneysTexas takes underage drinking very seriously – in fact, our state has what is known as a “zero tolerance” policy. This means that anyone under 21 years of age is not allowed to consume any level of alcohol and drive a vehicle – and the license of a minor found to be drinking and driving will be suspending, regardless of how little alcohol was consumed.

If you or someone in your family has been charged with underage drinking, you need the Austin, TX DWI defense lawyers at Minton, Burton, Bassett, & Collins, P.C. Do not take chances with your future. Call us today at (512) 476-4873 or contact us via email. Our attorneys can help you with your underage drinking charges in Travis, Williamson, Hays, Bastrop, Caldwell, Burnet and Comal counties.

Unlike a true DWI charge, in which intoxication must be substantiated through loss of physical or mental functions or a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08, minors can lose their license simply based upon the officer's perception that the child had consumed alcohol. So if an officer pulls over your teenager and believes that he smells alcohol, the Department of Public Safety can suspend your child's license automatically for 60 to 120 days.

In addition to the suspension penalty, here are the other repercussions of underage drinking while driving:

  • Fine of up to $500
  • 8 to 12 hours of community service
  • Mandatory attendance in alcohol-awareness classes
  • A second or third offense can lead to driver's license suspension for 90 to 180 days.

If your child is 17 or older, and is stopped for drinking and driving, he or she may face a fine of up to $2,000, a license suspension of 90 days to 1 year and jail time ranging from 72 hours to 180 days.

These severe criminal penalties can have damaging consequences on a teenager's record, limiting his or her employment and college opportunities. Given that officers may stop and charge a minor without the same level of evidence required for an adult, you need an experienced attorney to make sure your child's rights are being adequately protected.

The lawyers at Minton, Burton, Bassett, & Collins have handled drunk driving cases for Texans throughout the state, including minors. We understand the methods used to determine if your child was drinking, and we can contest charges that we feel are unfounded or based upon an officer's incorrect perception of events. We don't want your child's future to be ruined, and we will work hard on your family's behalf to ensure that justice is served.

If your child has been charged with a DUI or a DWI, contact the Texas drunk driving attorneys at MBFC now by calling (512) 476-4873 or contact us via email. We will defend your rights and reputation. We have 45 years of experience representing clients in Austin, TX and the surrounding communities, including: Travis County (Creedmoor, Elroy, Manor, Pflugerville); Williamson County (Cedar Park, Georgetown, Liberty Hill, Florence, Leander, Round Rock, Taylor); Hays County (Buda, Dripping Springs, Kyle, San Marcos, Wimberley); Bastrop County (Bastrop, Clearview, Elgin, Rockne, Smithville); Caldwell County (Lockhart, Luling); Burnet County (Bertram, Burnet, Marble Falls); and Comal County (Bulverde, Canyon Lake, Gruene, New Braunfels, Sattler, Startzville).

Law Awards

Awards given to our attorneys for excellence.

Michael Burnett -

  • Recognized in 2008 and 2005 as a "Rising Super Lawyer" by Texas Monthly.
  • A.V. Rated by Martindale-Hubbell

Jeffrey David Miller -

  • Recognized in 2008 as a "Rising Star Super Lawyer" by Texas Monthly Magazine.
  • Elected in 2008 as a Fellow of the Texas Bar Association.