DWI Laws

Travis County DWI / DUI AttorneysTexas laws are among the toughest in the nation on DWI offenders. If you have been charged with DWI, you face penalties ranging from 3 days to 10 years in prison, plus the loss of your license for up to two years. You may have already spent time in Travis County Jail or a jail in the surrounding counties of Williamson, Hays, Bastrop, Caldwell, Burnet or Comal. If your DWI offense occurred in conjunction with other factors, such as the presence of a child in your vehicle or an accident causing serious injury, the consequences are even harsher.

Drunk driving penalties in Texas are severe – and a conviction can threaten your freedom and your future. Do not take chances! You need legal representation from a firm experienced in drunk driving litigation and the Texas court system. You need the Austin, TX DWI defense attorneys at Minton, Burton, Bassett, & Collins, P.C. Call us today at (512) 476-4873 or contact us via email.

The TX lawyers at Minton, Burton, Bassett, & Collins have handled drunk driving cases for more than four decades. We understand how much is at stake when you have been charged with a DWI or a DUI – and we leverage our experience to minimize the damages to your life and family.

The legal penalties imposed on DWI offenses are as follows:

First Offense

  • Fine of up to $2,000
  • 72 hours to 180 days in jail
  • 90 day to 1 year driver’s license suspension
  • Community service
  • If an open container of alcohol is found in your car at the time of arrest, you will spend a minimum of 6 days in jail

Second Offense

  • Fine of up to $4,000
  • 30 days to 1 year in jail
  • 180-day to 2-year driver’s license suspension
  • Community service
  • As a condition of release from jail on bond, you will be required to install and maintain a deep lung air device on your car while charges are pending. The device requires periodic breath samples in order to start and drive your vehicle.

Third Offense

  • Fine of up to $10,000
  • 2 to 10 years in penitentiary
  • 180-day to 2-year driver’s license suspension

DWI involved in an accident causing serious bodily injury

  • Criminal charges for intoxication assault (3rd Degree Felony)
  • Fine of up to $10,000
  • 2 to 10 years in penitentiary

DWI involved in an accident causing death

  • Criminal charges for intoxication manslaughter.
  • Fine of up to $10,000
  • 2 to 20 years in penitentiary (2nd Degree Felony).

DWI with a child passenger

  • State jail felony charges for DWI with a passenger under 15 years of age.
  • Fine of up to $10,000
  • 180 days to 2 years in jail

Second DWI Offense and Drag Racing Charge

  • Drag racing, normally a Class B Misdemeanor, becomes a Class A Misdemeanor if the person has a prior drag racing conviction, a DWI conviction, or had an open alcohol container while driving.

DWI while driving a commercial vehicle

  • While .08 BAC is considered legal intoxication in Texas, commercial drivers can face suspension of their commercial driver's license for 1-3 years for a .04 BAC.

Driver Responsibility Tax

  • In addition to the fines listed above, Texas imposes a surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years for a first DWI offense, $1,500 per year for three years for a second DWI offense and $2,000 per year for any conviction involving a BAC level of .16 or higher.

DWI penalties in Texas are severe – and a conviction can threaten your freedom and your future. You need legal representation from an experienced firm like Minton, Burton, Bassett, & Collins, P.C. Our lawyers understand how much is at stake when you have been charged with a DWI or a DUI – and we leverage our experience to minimize the damages to your future and your family.

Remember: if you or a family member has been charged with a DWI or a DUI, you have 15 days from the date the arresting officer serves you with a notice of suspension to request a hearing to contest the suspension or your license will be suspended. Usually, the deadline to request a hearing is 15 days after your DWI arrest.

Texas drunk driving attorneys at MBFC by calling (512) 476-4873 or contact us via email. We will defend your rights and reputation.

We have 45 years of experience representing clients in Austin, TX and the surrounding communities, including: Travis County (Creedmoor, Elroy, Manor, Pflugerville); Williamson County (Cedar Park, Georgetown, Liberty Hill, Florence, Leander, Round Rock, Taylor); Hays County (Buda, Dripping Springs, Kyle, San Marcos, Wimberley); Bastrop County (Bastrop, Clearview, Elgin, Rockne, Smithville); Caldwell County (Lockhart, Luling); Burnet County (Bertram, Burnet, Marble Falls); and Comal County (Bulverde, Canyon Lake, Gruene, New Braunfels, Sattler, Startzville).

Law Awards

Awards given to our attorneys for excellence.

Michael Burnett -

  • Recognized in 2008 and 2005 as a "Rising Super Lawyer" by Texas Monthly.
  • A.V. Rated by Martindale-Hubbell

Jeffrey David Miller -

  • Recognized in 2008 as a "Rising Star Super Lawyer" by Texas Monthly Magazine.
  • Elected in 2008 as a Fellow of the Texas Bar Association.