Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 724 – Implied Consent

Texas Transportation Code, § 724.035
SUSPENSION OR DENIAL OF LICENSE

  1. If a person refuses the request of a peace officer to submit to the taking of a specimen, the department shall:
    1. suspend the person's license to operate a motor vehicle on a public highway for 180 days; or
    2. if the person is a resident without a license, issue an order denying the issuance of a license to the person for 180 days.
  2. The period of suspension or denial is two years if the person's driving record shows one or more alcohol-related or drug-related enforcement contacts, as defined by Section 524.001 (3), during the 10 years preceding the date of the person's arrest.
  3. A suspension or denial takes effect on the 40th day after the date on which the person:
    1. receives notice of suspension or denial under Section 724.032(a); or
    2. is considered to have received notice of suspension or denial under Section 724.033.

back to table of contents

Law Awards

Awards given to our attorneys for excellence.

Michael Burnett -

  • Recognized in 2008 and 2005 as a "Rising Super Lawyer" by Texas Monthly.
  • A.V. Rated by Martindale-Hubbell

Jeffrey David Miller -

  • Recognized in 2008 as a "Rising Star Super Lawyer" by Texas Monthly Magazine.
  • Elected in 2008 as a Fellow of the Texas Bar Association.